Georgia Massage Requirements

Georgia massage requirements establish the educational and examination requirements for an individual to become a massage therapist in the state.  In Georgia individuals who practice massage therapy are considered Licensed Massage Therapists and must graduate from a board approved  school and pass a board approved examination.  The following information is offered as an assistance to those considering a career as a massage therapist.  The information should be verified by consulting the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy.

Georgia Massage Requirements

Regulatory Board

Georgia Board of Massage Therapy

237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217-3858


P.O. Box 13446
Macon, GA 31208

Phone  (478)207-2440

Fax       (877)588-0446


To see Georgia State Laws & Rules got to:

Georgia Board of Massage Therapy

Find Georgia Massage Schools


Application $125
Renewal      $75

Education requirements:

500 hrs from Board approved massage school


Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards MBLEx


24 hours biennially

Page last Updated June 15, 2015

The National Certification Examination for Licensure is no longer offered as of November 1, 2014 and National Certification will no longer be offered as of December 31, 2016.  Those who are Nationally Certified will need to upgrade their Certification to Board Certified. Please go to for further information on Board Certification. 

Georgia Board of Massage Therapy Chapter 24A

Georgia Massage Requirements Definitions Chapter 24A Excerpt


§ 43-24A-3. Definitions

As used in this chapter, the term:

(1) "Advertise" means, but is not limited to, the issuing of or causing to be distributed any card, sign, or other device or causing or permitting any sign or marking on or in any building or structure, or in any newspaper, magazine, or directory, or announcement on radio, or announcement or display on television, computer network, or electronic or telephonic medium.

(2) "Applicant" means any person seeking a license under this chapter.

(3) "Board" means the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy established by this chapter.

(4) "Board recognized massage program" means an educational program which meets the standards for training and curriculum as set out by the board in its rules which are consistent with the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission as provided in Code Section 20-3-250.4.

(5) "License" means a valid and current certificate of registration issued by the board.

(6) "Licensee" means any person holding a license.

(7) "Massage therapist" means a person who administers massage or massage therapy for compensation.

(8) "Massage therapy" means the application of a system of structured touch, pressure, movement, and holding to the soft tissue of the body in which the primary intent is to enhance or restore health and well-being. The term includes complementary methods, including without limitation the external application of water, superficial heat, superficial cold, lubricants, salt scrubs, or other topical preparations and the use of commercially available electromechanical devices which do not require the use of transcutaneous electrodes and which mimic or enhance the actions possible by the hands; the term also includes determining whether massage therapy is appropriate or contraindicated, or whether referral to another health care provider is appropriate. Massage therapy shall not include the use of ultrasound, fluidotherapy, laser, and other methods of deep thermal modalities.

(9) "Person" means a natural person only.

(10) "Provisionally permitted massage therapist" means a person issued a provisional permit under this chapter.

HISTORY: Code 1981, § 43-24A-3, enacted by Ga. L. 2005, p. 1251, § 1/SB 110.

Resources and References for Georgia Massage Requirements

Go to State Laws & Rules

Go to Become a Massage Therapist

Go to Massage Index

Go to Get Massage Smart Home Page

Copyright © 2009-2018 All Rights Reserved GETMASSAGESMART.COM