Delaware Massage Requirements

Delaware massage requirements establish the educational and examination requirements for an individual to become a massage therapist in the state.  In Delaware individuals who practice massage therapy have several options one is to take 500 hours of training and become a Licensed Massage Therapists, take 300 hours of training and become a Certified Massage therapist and the option to become Message Technician for one year with 200 hours of training from a board approved  school.  

Delaware massage requirements to become a Licensed Massage Therapist the candidate must pass a board approved examination. The following information is offered as an assistance to those considering a career as a massage therapist.  The information should be verified by consulting the State of Delaware Board of Massage Therapy.

Delaware Massage Requirements

Regulatory Board

State of Delaware Board of Massage Therapy

Cannon Building, #203
861 Silver Lake Blvd
Dover, DE 19904


Phone  (302) 744-4500
Fax      
(302) 739-2711

Email  customerservice.dpr@state.de.us

To see State Law & Rules go to:

Delaware Board of Massage Therapy & Bodywork

Find Delaware Massage Schools

Fees:

LMT Application  $118
CMT Application  $118
Upgrade from Active CMT to LMT  $35
Renewal: Notice of fee will be delivered at the time of renewal.
Temporary Massage Technician  $55

Education requirements:

500 hours with exam for Licensed  Massage Therapist

Temporary Permits for MT Technicians Limit One Year requires completion of 200 hours


Certified Massage Technician requires completion of 300 hours

Exam:

Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards; Massage & Bodywork Examination MBLEx

CEU Requirements:

LMT    24 hours biennially
CMT    12 hours biennially

Page Last Updated June 16, 2015

The National Certification Examination for Licensure is no longer offered as of November 1, 2014 and National Certification will no longer be offered as of December 31, 2016.  Those who are Nationally Certified will need to upgrade their Certification to Board Certified. Please go to NCBTMB.org for further information on Board Certification.   


State of Delaware Department of State
Division of Professional Regulations
Delaware Massage Requirements
Code 5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork 

Delaware Massage Requirements Definitions Excerpt

1.0 Scope of Practice

Licensed massage and bodywork therapists and certified massage technicians shall perform only the massage and bodywork activities and techniques for which they have been trained as stated in their certificates, diplomas or transcripts from the school or program of massage therapy where trained.

2.0 Definitions

2.1 The term "500 hours of supervised in-class study" as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5308(a)(2) shall mean that an instructor has controlled and reviewed the applicant's education on the premises of a school or approved program of massage or bodywork therapy, and can document that the applicant has successfully completed a curriculum that meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. §5308(a)(2) and which includes hands-on technique and contraindications as they relate to massage and bodywork. More than one school or approved program of massage or bodywork therapy may be attended in order to accumulate the total 500 hour requirement.2.2 The term a "300 - hour course of supervised in-class study of massage" as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5309(a)(2) shall mean that an instructor has controlled and reviewed the applicant's education on the premises of a school or approved program of massage or bodywork therapy, and can document that the applicant has successfully completed a curriculum that meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. §5309(a)(2).

2.2.1 The 300 hour course must be a unified introductory training program in massage and bodywork, including training in the subjects set forth in 24 Del.C. §5309(a)(2). The entire 300 hour course must be taken at one school or approved program. The Board may, upon request, waive the “single school” requirement for good cause or hardship, such as the closure of a school.

2.3 The term a “200 hour course of supervised in-class study of massage" as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5309(b) shall mean that an instructor has controlled and reviewed the applicant's education on the premises of a school or approved program of massage or bodywork therapy, and can document that the applicant has successfully completed a curriculum that meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. §5309(b).2.4 “Massage and bodywork” includes, but is not limited to, the following practices or modalities:

AcupressureChair MassageClinical aroma therapyCraniosacal therapyDeep Tissue Massage TherapyHellerworkManual Lymphatic DrainageMassage Therapy Myofascial Release TherapyNeuromuscular TherapyProcess AcupressureReflexologyRolfingShiatsuSwedish Massage TherapyTragerVisceral Manipulation

2.5 Continuing Education categories

2.5.1 “Core course” means a continuing education course with a subject matter within the “practice of massage and bodywork,” which contributes to the professional competency of the massage and bodywork therapist or massage technician. Core courses must be designed to maintain, improve, or expand skills and knowledge or to develop new and relevant skills and knowledge. Ethics is a core course.2.5.2 “Elective course” means a continuing education course with a subject matter that is outside the “practice of massage and bodywork,” which does not directly contribute to the professional competency of the massage and bodywork therapist or massage technician. Elective courses must have one of the following subject matters: courses outside the “practice of massage and bodywork,” professional growth and improvement, and business practices.

2.6 “CPR certification” means a valid Heartsaver® CPR Certification or its equivalent issued by the American Heart Association, a valid Adult CPR Certification or its equivalent issued by the American Red Cross, or a valid Standard CPR Certification or its equivalent issued by the National Safety Council, or, upon review and approval of the Board, a substantially similar certification taught by a certified instructor. CPR certification cannot be obtained through an on-line course.

Resources and References for Delaware Massage Requirements

Delaware Board of Massage Therapy & Bodywork



Go to State Laws & Rules

Go to Become a Massage Therapist

Go to Massage School Index

Go to Get Massage Smart Home Page



Copyright © 2009-2018 All Rights Reserved GETMASSAGESMART.COM