Florida massage requirements establish the educational and examination requirements for an individual to become a massage therapist in the state. In Florida individuals who practice massage therapy are considered Licensed Massage Therapists and must graduate from a board approved school and pass a board approved examination. A business must obtain a Massage Establishment License and hire Licensed Massage Therapists in order to offer the service of massage. The following information is offered as an assistance to those considering a career as a massage therapist. The information should be verified by consulting the Florida Board of Massage Therapy.
Florida Department of Health
To see Florida State Laws & Rules go to:
500 hours from Board approved school
MBLEx Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards
24 hours biennially
Page last Update June 16, 2015
The National Certification Examination for Licensure is no longer offered as of November 1, 2014 and National Certification will no longer be offered as of December 31, 2016. Those who are Nationally Certified will need to upgrade their Certification to Board Certified. Please go to NCBTMB.org for further information on Board Certification.
Florida Massage Requirements Definitions Chapter 480 Excerpts
The 2014 Florida Statutes
REGULATION OF PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS Chapter 480
MASSAGE PRACTICE F.S. 480.033480.033
Definitions.—As used in this act:
(1) “Board” means the Board of Massage Therapy.
(2) “Department” means the Department of Health.
(3) “Massage” means the manipulation of the soft tissues of the human body with the hand, foot, arm, or elbow, whether or not such manipulation is aided by hydrotherapy, including colonic irrigation, or thermal therapy; any electrical or mechanical device; or the application to the human body of a chemical or herbal preparation.
(4) “Massage therapist” means a person licensed as required by this act, who administers massage for compensation.
(5) “Apprentice” means a person approved by the board to study massage under the instruction of a licensed massage therapist.
(6) “Colonic irrigation” means a method of hydrotherapy used to cleanse the colon with the aid of a mechanical device and water.
(7) “Establishment” means a site or premises, or portion thereof, wherein a massage therapist practices massage.
(8) “Licensure” means the procedure by which a person, hereinafter referred to as a “practitioner,” applies to the board for approval to practice massage or to operate an establishment.
(9) “Board-approved massage school” means a facility that meets minimum standards for training and curriculum as determined by rule of the board and that is licensed by the Department of Education pursuant to chapter 1005 or the equivalent licensing authority of another state or is within the public school system of this state or a college or university that is eligible to participate in the William L. Boyd, IV, Florida Resident Access Grant Program.History.—s. 3, ch. 78-436; ss. 13, 15, 25, 30, 34, 50, 62, ch. 80-406; s. 2, ch. 81-318; s. 76, ch. 83-329; ss. 1, 12, 13, ch. 85-280; s. 50, ch. 89-374; s. 4, ch. 91-429; s. 169, ch. 94-218; s. 67, ch. 95-144; s. 149, ch. 97-264; s. 116, ch. 2001-277; s. 1025, ch. 2002-387; s. 1, ch. 2013-212.
Resources and References for Florida Massage Requirements
Copyright © 2009-2018 All Rights Reserved GETMASSAGESMART.COM